World Cup Painting Pact Update

As a mechanism for me to get something painted over the usually paint free summer months, the World Cup Painting Pact has been extremely successful.

Of the 6 days of the World Cup, I’ve been available to paint on 5 of them and have painted on all 5; probably getting on average 2.5 hours per session.

I started with 4 chaos warriors, 1 minotaur and 9 beastmen all primed in black and stuck to their bases.

As with all of my painting I like to use a production line method when doing groups of models. I do this by painting from flesh to armour on all models going one colour at a time. So I’ll end up with all models being base coated in all colours, then I will apply any washes to all models and finally highlighting and doing any details. Once that is done I’ll varnish/seal and base.

After Day 6 I’m finished with the painting. I’ve managed to get the eyes right – the first time in my life I’ve done this on a painted miniature – and I don’t want to do anything that may break them now. I’m just finalising the basing and varnishing before I can put them on the shelf.

I’ve never done Work In Progress pictures before and have not joined in with other gamers to set goals and support each other to complete them. I’ve been amazed at how I’ve risen to the challenge and have really appreciated all of the nice comments and feedback from those that have followed progress on Twitter. I highly recommend it to anyone. I think it works best when there are a few of you working together who you can chat to. If it was a much bigger challenge, it wouldn’t have a much a personal commitment; it’s easy to say that you are going to do something to the world and not follow through, but when it’s within a smaller group the commitment is always there.

Here are the shots that I took at the end of each day. I will do another post when the basing is finished and I’ve had a chance to take some better pictures.

I’m so pleased with progress and I’m enjoying the fact that I’ve actually got a bit better a painting that I’m going to start striping some more miniatures for later in the year and will start painting another team later in the week. More on that later.

Here are the shots that I took at the end of each day (I didn’t paint on Day 5). I hope you enjoy them and thanks to everyone for your comments and support so far 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “World Cup Painting Pact Update

  1. Very nice painting. That photo sequence looks cool; kind of like a montage from a cheesy 80s film.

Leave a Reply

