The 100th Post Let Down

It’s true. This is the 100th post on my little blog. Thanks for reading 🙂

It’s been a little while since I last posted here and that is partly because I wanted to do something special for the 100th post. I’ve been putting it off trying to think of what to do and it always came back to a review of the last 99 posts. As it happens though I am not going to do that. I’m just too excited and on a hobby high to write something retrospective. I’m forward thinking and I’m just going to write down what is getting me going at the moment and what I am working on.

Well firstly, I’ve finished the background work needed to setup and publicise my Blood Bowl tournament – ExeBowl. It is now NAF approved and although it too early to have my first paying customer, I am really pleased that there has been a good level of interest. I’m hoping that we’ll have a great event and that we’ll be back next year. I will write up a little post in the future about what I’ve done and how I’ve approached the Tournament Organiser role. I’ve not had a Blood Bowl league game for a few weeks but have 2 in 2 weeks coming up and overall I am really hyped by Blood Bowl. I’m slowly trying to get back into FUMBBL and the Cyanide game but there’s no rush.

I am really enjoying writing the Blood Bowl match reports and the good feedback is really appreciated. I think in part this is a big factor in my hobby high. Through Twitter and the blog, I feel part of a little group of like minded readers and social-media friends. It’s not a pressure to write or paint, it’s now a nice part of my life that I am pleased to be able to share with people. When I first got back into the hobby, I was obviously an outsider, but feel that I’ve been able to contribute rather than consume recently. This is very rewarding. I hope that over the coming months and years that I will be able to meet many of you either in person at gaming events or online via Skype of Google Hangouts (get in touch if you fancy some Skype painting or a chat).

As a result of all of this I have started painting again and have lots of plans for new teams to paint and model – more on that soon. I feel that I’ve found my balance of life and hobby-life; I’ll do them in my own time to the best standard that I can do and I’ll be happy. Sometimes when you consume everything via podcasts, blogs, forums and Twitter you can (well I can) get overwhelmed and a little envious. I’m not in a position to travel to tournaments every week, I can’t buy every army out there, and I’m not the best painter. I’m just a normal guy with a pretty normal life who occasionally likes to paint and play with little toy soldiers. But it makes me happy and at the moment it makes me really happy 🙂

Blood Bowl is and always will be my main focus, but I am also looking into other games and other miniatures. Infinity and Malifaux are both of interest and there’s always X-Wing in the background. I’ve found what I like, I’ve found what I don’t like and I’ve found my voice really. It’s exciting times.

So this 100th post is about the present and the future. The journey has been a good one. I have learnt a lot and met some interesting people along the way, but it’s the future that I’m looking forward to and I’m doing it with a smile on my face.

Now I’m off out to the cave for a spot of painting. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

