Finished (at last): Blood Bowl 2nd Edition Elves

Well, well, well. Who’d have thought it? Not me that’s for sure. I’ve just put the finishing touches to my Blood Bowl 2nd Edition Elves. They’ve been a work in progress for many weeks now but life and stuff has prevented me from getting them finished. I’m not going to apologise though!

This was probably the last team that I painted when I was a kid and in keeping with my bleary eyed meanderings back into the miniature gaming hobby, I’ve kept to what I know and have used the same colour scheme that I used back in the day – Galadrieth Gladiators.

Now, I’ve got to admit that I ran out of patience with these models from very early on in the process and that didn’t help me when it came to avoiding distractions, I’m sure. Those that follow me on Twitter will know this already though. Even with my nice new brushes and the little bit of recent painting experience that I’ve got, I just found these minis to be extremely fiddly to work with and full of odd detailing and tricky to reach places. That frustration lead to me leaving out a few details and just focus on getting them done. I’m thinking of playing them in my local club’s upcoming league and so wanted them ready in plenty of time. It’ll be these or my skaven in all likelihood.

The scheme is a very simple base of Caledor Sky and Mephiston Red with a simple wash on top. I’ve taken some liberties with flesh and uniform boundaries for the reasons stated above. I have picked out the white detail on the legs but that is about it. In another throwback to my gaming heyday the bases have been done in an Astrogranite style and the positions are identified by the coloured rings.

As with all of my Blood Bowl painting projects so far I like to paint up lots of figures at the same time and so have a full roster of 4 catchers, 2 throwers, 2 blitzers and 8 linemen ready to go.

I’m pleased with how they’ve turned out and they’re not too shabby and will be nice to play with at least. The addition of a semi-decent base makes any model look better and is something I’ll look to develop going forward.

Here are a few pictures before they take to the Astrogranite once more.

Leave a Reply

