Adventures in FUMBBL

I’ve been playing a little bit of online Blood Bowl using FUMBBL and I thought that after 10 14 games I’d share a few thoughts and experiences.

For those that don’t know, FUMBBL is a free online version of the tabletop game Blood Bowl. Players from all over the world can sign up and create and play as many teams as they like. The games are played using a Java client that allows you to perform player actions as well as chat with your opponent. The site offers various types of gaming environment from private leagues to random matchups in the Blackbox.

The main thing that I like about FUMBBL is that it allows me to play Blood Bowl.

My record so far is W6 T3 L5. There are some nice stories with each of those games and a couple of the losses/ties could/should/would have been victories…aren’t they all? The last one was against Vampires and if I’d positioned my loose cage better I’d have scored next turn. As it happens the vamps got the ball off my gutter runner and with a bit of hypnotic gazing, some dodging and some passing moved the ball to the other end of the field. I managed to blitz the ball carrier on T8 but could only push him which meant two of my runners retreated to apply some tackle zones and make the thrall work for his TD. Once again though my positioning wasn’t perfect and I allowed him a 2DB on one runner who to his credit dodged out of the way but couldn’t stop the dodging thrall from scoring. It’s those little things that keep me wanting to play the next game. If I was getting smashed around every game and not learning then I’m not sure I’d be here writing this now.

Thanks to all of my opponents so far 🙂

On the whole the standard of play is very high. But please take this with a pinch handful of salt as I’ve been out of the game for so long I don’t know a chainpush from a chainsaw. I’ve joined the 145 Club Rookie league and played a couple of games that went quite badly for my squishy skaven, but I’ve also played a League game using game finder against what I presume is someone of my skill level and beaten them soundly. I will say though that all of the games and the opponents have been a lot of fun. I’ve not come across anyone blaming the dice etc or chat raging. We’ve all been enjoying the games in a good spirit and that’s what it is all about for me.

So what do I like about FUMBBL?

  • I like being able to play relatively quick games of Blood Bowl from the comfort of my PC; a couple of games a night is easily possible, even with life going on around me.
  • I like that I can setup as many teams of as many races as I like.
  • I like the community feel and chatting with my opponents (if they want). After a slow start in the rookie league we are now using the messaging system to arrange games and make friends of our foes.

What don’t I like?

  • Well to me as a novice, the whole site and experience is very closed and difficult to comprehend. The starter guides are missing key bits of information about selecting inducements, spectating and chatting etc. Knowing how to go about finding a game can be daunting (stopped me from playing until many months after I first signed up).
  • The client is very functional and could do with a little bit of spit and polish. Not too much as I like the simplicity of it, but it looks very dated.
  • The statistics shown on the site are really odd to a noob, seemingly only using games in Ranked for the calculations.

I’ve really enjoyed being in the rookie league and will probably try again with another team in the next season and will eventually join a bigger league (if they’ll have me). I’m also going to try a few more teams out. I’m not experienced enough for a lot of teams so will keep trying to learn with orcs, humans and elves. It has been really good for keeping me in Blood Bowl the game as well as the hobby. I will always enjoy collecting and painting models but it adds to the enjoyment if I can play too. My day-to-day life doesn’t allow me to get to play many tabletop games and attending tournaments is harder still.

FUMBBL lets me play and enjoy a game that I love 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Adventures in FUMBBL

  1. Good read – just a quick one, all the User Guides (I think?) are editable, so if there is something you think is missing (and you feel like it) you can add them 🙂

    Hope to play you sometime!

    • Thanks Mike. I’ll take a look at the User Guides again and see if they can be edited. Would be nice to know that I can give something back and maybe get a few more people playing BB.

  2. Being an avid fumbler it is great that you are enjoying the site. Stick with it as it only gets better. Throweck

Leave a Reply

