Working towards Lego…

I originally started this little blog to talk about the toys that I played with as a young boy, my adventures in fatherhood and the toys that my son was playing with. It didn’t take me long to focus (obsess) on tabletop gaming. This wasn’t a great shock to me as I did (and do) love the hobby and I’ve found as I’ve got older that computer games are no longer a real attraction to me.

In terms of toys and childhood my view is that boys should be outside playing football and riding bikes in the summer; building camps, playing in woods and stuff like that. In the winter or when weather dictates toys should be about imagination and fantasy. So I had He-Man, Transformers, Action Man, Lego and Star Wars. On top there were always dinosaurs, space ships and aeroplanes to keep me going. Playing usually involved trying to make parachutes for my toys and throwing them out of the window!

When we moved house one of the big factors was the life that it would give our son as he grew up. The garden and surrounding countryside were therefore massive attractions. But how have we done in terms of the toys that our son is currently playing with? Well he’s only 28 months which is a funny age in terms of toys and the skills that a toddler has. He’s got the usual puzzles, books and other educational toys but then he’s got boys toys – bricks, cars, fire engines and dinosaurs.

The cars that he has has gone from the plastic toys for 1yr olds through to cars that he can push along. Then there are the Matchbox type cars that he’s playing with more and more. The big plastic ‘Mega Bloks’ are a stepping stone to Lego, although I think the youngest age for Lego is about 4. I’ve still got the box of Lego in the Mancave ready for the day when he’s ready. He’s also got the little wooden trainset that he can build himself. He loves trains at the moment so maybe the old Hornby set will see the light of day in the next few years.

I don’t want to wish his childhood away as every day is precious, but it is really nice to see him grow and grow into the type of toys that I love so much.

2 thoughts on “Working towards Lego…

  1. I also have a house full of that stuff. To my surprise, I’ve found the wooden train tracks quite satisfying (as a grown up) as I attempt to make a track that uses all the bits we own and still lines up at the end.

    • That’s exactly what I do with the larger Lego-type blocks. I try and make something with all of them before the boy destroys my creation. He usually wins! Toys are getting more satisfying that’s for sure. It’s many years off yet but the other day I did think of getting a 6ft x 4ft board in the spare room – Warhammer on one side and Hornby rail track on the other (as I had as a kid).

Leave a Reply

