Warhammer Fantasy ‘Island of Blood’ Unboxing

Island of Blood is the Warhammer Fantasy Battle starter set and is the first GW box I’ve purchased since Blood Bowl 3rd edition when that first came out. As such I thought I’d do a little unboxing review – I’m clearly way behind on offering exclusive insight!

Seeing the box on the desk and comparing it to the BB box, I can see that this one isn’t as tall. Let’s see what’s inside…

 

The Island of Blood box

The Island of Blood box

The box is open

The box is open

 

Okay, so it’s full! That’s a good sign. I obviously know that there are 70+ Skaven and High Elf minis included in the box but hadn’t thought how much plastic that would actually be. There are 5 sprues in total and I’m disappointed to see that 3 of them are mixed Skaven and High Elf. That’s a shame as I’ve already decided to play High Elves and would have liked to sell the Skaven sprues. Looks like I’ll need to chop them up a little bit if I want to do that. The other 2 sprues look to be exclusively Skaven or elf.

Plastic, plastic, plastic

Plastic, plastic, plastic

More plastic

More plastic

 

Before I go into detail the rest of the box is taken up with bases, dice, plastic templates, a getting started booklet and the miniature version of the rules. The rules are the complete 8th edition rules but with the various painting and race guides taken out. It’s a nice little rule book although the paper is the cheap stuff used in magazines. Would be nice to be able to download the rules for free if you’ve purchased the box set…but that’s never going to happen. 

Contents

Contents

I’ve got to say though that the minis look amazing. I’ve not had much exposure to modern plastic models and I must say these are nice. There is lots of detail on each model and I’m looking forward to putting them together and eventually painting them. I’ll also have to get used to the weight of plastic minis on the battle field; all of my collection so far is metal with the exception of the basic Orcs and Humans that came in the BB boxes. 

The range rulers and templates are a little cheap looking. It would have been nice to have a proper tape measure in the box rather than the red plastic strips. Of course GW want you to buy their upgraded templates and rulers, but this seems a little cheap to me. 

All in all this is a nice introduction to the game and if I was 12 and looking to start in tabletop gaming with my brother or a friend then this would be perfect. For the £56 that I paid for it, I don’t feel too cheated. I’ve got a nice little set of minis and a decent sized rule book. Personally I’d like the quality of the non-mini pieces to be upped a little and I’d have liked the sprues to be exclusive to one race.

I’ll let you know how I get on with the game and how the components fare after some usage.

Leave a Reply

