Lonely gamers?

Now, I’ve not looked. I’m getting that out there straight away. I’m a married dad of one. My wife isn’t into ‘geeky’ stuff. I moved to a new area 6 months ago, and although I am making headways in terms of Blood Bowl, I am still a lonely gamer.

What is there for me?

I’ve been going through some of the contents of the old toy cupboard in preparation of moving it into my cave later this week. I’ve found my Warhammer Fantasy rulebook (1st ed I think) as well as the D&D Rules Cyclopedia from the same period. I love fantasy gaming. If I’m honest I love the background and story, hobby, elements more than the playing aspects. But, I still love to play. Double but, I don’t like the though of MMOs, I want to play on my own or with a few mates. Considering I don’t know anyone else like me (at the moment)…what games can I play? Where are the Massive Singleplayer Online games? Where are the card games for one? There must be more lonely gamers out there? I’ve got Blood Bowl Chaos Edition but that’s installed on my PC laptop not my Mac (that I use most). Suppose I can rectify that when the cave is opened. Given my recent debut with the Eshin Academy I think that would be a good move 😉

I love, love, love the hobby and fluff aspect – reading, purchasing, painting, building armies/teams/characters etc – and that will always continue. That’s about to have a rebirth of it’s now my time and money can focus on it.

But I want more!

5 thoughts on “Lonely gamers?

  1. The only MMO that I stuck with single player over the years is LOTR, though at a slow pace. Still haven’t made it to the end of the initial campaign arc. It is much better in terms of story telling than most others, and it was just released for Mac and is now free-to-play.

    • Thanks. I’ll take a look later. It did get me searching for the game that I loved as a kid – Eye of the Beholder. I’m going to try and did out an emulator and find a copy. I used to play Final Fantasy a little bit too on one console or other.

      • Final Fantasy Tactics is one of my favourite series. For some dungeon crawling I can also recommend Neverwinter Nights, also available for Mac now and pretty cheap. Showing its age in terms of graphics of course, but great story and RPG elements.

      • Thanks for the info. When I get round to taking a look I’ll let you know how I get on.

Leave a Reply

