Podcasts : What I’m listening to

I’m a bit of a podcast junky. I’ve tried many of them over the years, in the car, out running on the trails, or just around the house, they are my connection to my passions.

I have a combination of daily, weekly, and monthly listens. I’m a US sports fan and get my fill from ESPN- Mike & Mike are the mainstay followed by Football Today (on hiatus) and The Thundering Hurd. I also listen to Inside The Huddle, a UK based NFL podcast. Although the more I listen to it the more I think they just listen to the ESPN ones and repeat as appropriate. It’s nice to hear English voices talking about my favorite sport though.

Next I have comedy. This has changed quite a bit over the years as podcasts come and go but BBC Radio is always a good source and I subscribe to most of them. On top of that I’ve got The Bugle, Answer Me This and Hamish & Andy to keep me going.

Then there’s science, news and current affairs. This is the section that changes most frequently. I mean my tastes change most frequently. Dr Karl can be a good listen but tends to repeat himself over time, the BBC Radio shows are always of a really high quality but sometimes can be a bit dull and I end up unsubscribing and resubscribing every four months or so. The Kermode and Mayo Film Review is a must every week though.

The last section is hobby. This is a new section really, only a year old or so. Blood Bowl podcasts are the oldest on my list – Three Die Block and Both Down. But I have started this week (which is why I decided to post this) to try and branch out to other gaming podcasts. I’ve been listening to GoingLastGoingLast, Dice of Doom, Forge The Narrative, Garagehammer and Noobhammer and will probably settle on one or two of them to add to my regular listening. I must say that at the moment Noobhammer and Dice of Doom get the vote. The combination of the content, duration and personalities give them the slight edge so far. I’m going through some of the recent back catalogue to get a clearer idea of what they are about (as I did with the Blood Bowl ‘casts) and will make a final decision when the next episode of each have dropped.

P.s. I’m also starting to watch Tabletop on Youtube.

P.p.s I’m getting in this gaming hobby again 🙂

Leave a Reply

