Match Report: Eshin Academy (Skaven) vs High Elves

“So here we are Jim, the Eshin Academy’s first run out into the Blood Bowl arena since they were formed and is it just me or do they look nervous? No, Bob you’re right. We could be in for a short and bloody game tonight…just the way I like it. The coach is trying to get them focused but is spending a fair bit of time in the latrine himself, Jim. Yes, Bob and tonight’s latrines are brought to you by ‘Mandrex Latrine Wipes: Human skin to clean your hole with’.

The elves win the toss and decide to kick and it looks like we’re set for a blizzard. The Academy will at least get a chance to touch the ball tonight. And here we go…

The ball goes high, really high Bob. Yes Jim, and it looks like it landed right on the linerat on the line of scrimmage in the middle…he…catches it. The rats move to get the ball to rookie thrower Gareek Shade, he takes the ball and retreats towards his own endzone. Interesting move there Bob, he seems a little disoriented. The rest of his team though seem intent on trying to punch a hole down the left hand side of the pitch, probably looking to release one of the runners deep into the elves half. Yes, Jim that’s exactly what’s happening. The elves are bunching up in the middle near the line and are looking to hold as many rats in tackle zones as they can. They’ve spotted the runner moving into the backfield and move to cover.

What’s this? The Academy coach seems to be calling a play onto the field. Yes, Jim. It looks like, yes, they are, they’re going for the score. Gareek runs forward down the left and hands off to runner Toxide the Sneak who himself runs forward and looks to pass. The release is perfect it’s only the catch to make. Sneek Creep is the runner with the task of making it. And let me cut in there Bob. Looking at Sneek’s Combine tape he has some lovely claws on him. You’re right Jim, but the catch is made more difficult by the elf blitzer within arms reach ou don’t don’t get that in practise…and…and…he’s dropped it. I can’t believe it Bob. The touchdown would have been his…”

That moment on Turn 3 shaped the game a little bit. The elves pick the ball up, after it bobbled to their player and they moved up the field and finished the first half 1-0 up. The second half didn’t start well for the skaven, losing 3 casualties. The elves got a quick score to go 2-0 up. At that point Coach Cameron took pity (rarely seen in Blood Bowl) and helped me with tactics and approach. With the elves looking very likely to make it 3-0 the game petered out and a lesson in coaching took over.

All in all I loved getting a game under my belt. It’s a big step to getting back into playing BB as well as the collecting and painting part of the hobby. The drop early on was typical in that when big plays were needed I came up short. The basic 7 AV is also very light. It didn’t take too many blocks for me to have players taken off the board in groups of 2s and 3s. Funnily enough when lining up after the second score I had 8 players left, and 4 of them were gutter runners. We agreed that I was too afraid of losing the runners to use them effectively. I’d over commit one of them in the elves half leaving me a rat down from the start. And with the others I’d not make enough plays to positively affect the play i.e. make the elves role the dice. As soon as I lost rats, it gave the elves Coach a chance to be super agressive on the line and my lack of numbers meant punching a hole through was always going to be uphill for me. When I did try to make something happen the number of times 1 Dodge reroll 1 came up was astonishing. What else? Well My brain wasn’t really engaged properly as I was spending too much time looking at what my opponent was doing rather than plotting my own route through the game. This meant that I often spent the first 2 minutes of each 4 minute turn, just looking at the board and looking at what I could do. This will come with time. Also playing against an agility team meant that there were too many players moving all over the place for my noobs brain to cope with.

I am happy I played. I’m looking forward to my next game with the skaven. Whether I play any better or not remains to be seen. I think when I’m more comfortable with the risk/reward it could be a different game 🙂 I am already thinking that playing humans and finding my style and approach again may be a good thing. It was also to have another week were BB was played at the club. Hopefully we can see a BB game or two being played every week 🙂

So it’s in the books.

Eshin Academy     P1 W0 D0 L1

Leave a Reply

