It’s like Toys-R-Us up there

We’re moving house and I’m going to have my very own man/geek cave. I am really excited about it and it’s got me thinking again about my old toys. I’ve been thinking of getting back into a hobby or two to make the most of my free time anyway and this seems like the perfect opportunity to start. I’m going to have to to some work to make the cave liveable as it’s being used as a shed by the current owners. I am also going to have to share my hobby space with my office so I can get my IT business off the ground.

With excitement mounting I’ve been thinking of the games that I really enjoyed as a teenager and the one that stands out is Blood Bowl. I had the polystyrene pitch and the next version which was a printed cardboard pitch. I remember spray painting the polystyrene pitch a bright green. There was no subtlety about it. I had the Star Player book and the Companion as well as lots of 2nd and 3rd edition miniatures. I certainly had an Orc team, a Chaos team and I think an Elf team. My brother, as was his way, played Halflings. We used to go into Portsmouth to play in the GW league in later years (when the rules changed to allow rosters etc). In the days without the internet as we know it White Dwarf was the source of knowledge and information on new rules and models. I was never the best painter that much I remember. But I did try and I loved collecting the mutants and the big guys. In the last week I’ve been catching up on the latest rules and trawling the forums to see what the BB world looks like today. In my mancave I want to make a hobby area for painting and collecting and I fancy making a custom pitch too.

So keen have I been over the last few weeks that I put in a call to my dad to see if he had by any chance kept any of my old toys. When I left home my stock answer to the question of what to do with my old stuff was to throw it away. How glad am I then that my dad ignored me every time?! I should have known really. Anyway he says that there’s a cupboard full of old toys. He reckons it has got Blood Bowl stuff as well as Lego, and a train set. I’m going to pay him a visit next week and am going to pick it all up. I don’t know what is there but it will be fun finding out. I’ll take pictures of it and catalogue it all and then work out what to do with it. Blood Bowl is certainly more appealing than Airfix (which don’t seem as sturdy as they did when I was younger).

Leave a Reply

